Support SymphonyCast with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
SymphonyCast homepage

Week of October 10, 2011

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
Mariss Jansons, conductor
Leif Ove Andsnes, piano

Listen (hour 1)
Listen (hour 2)

Listen live from your local public radio station

BRAHMS: Piano Concerto No. 2, Op. 83
WAGNER: Vorspiel und Liebestod 'Tristan und Isolde'
R. STRAUSS: Der Rosenkavalier, Suite, Op. 59
DEBUSSY: Danses sacree et profane pour harpe et orchestra a cords –Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Bernard Haitink, conductor, Vera Badings, harp (Philips 438742) Debussy Orchestra Music including Prelude a l'Apres-midi d'un faune, etc.

It's the almost-a-symphony! Brahms was so gun-shy about writing a "Symphony" that we wrote one and called it a piano concerto instead.

Heather F. of Berkeley, CA won this week's contest by correctly ID'ing Edvard Grieg's "March of the Dwarves" from the Lyric Suite.

Produced in partnership with Radio Netherlands Worldwide

Go to SymphonyCast's home page for the latest show.


Mariss Jansons

Leif Ove Andsnes

Johannes Brahms

Richard Wagner