Support SymphonyCast with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
SymphonyCast homepage

July 4 From the 2011 Spring for Music Festival

Montreal Symphony Orchestra
Kent Nagano, music director
Angela Hewitt, piano

Listen (hour 1)
Listen (hour 2)

Listen live from your local public radio station

GIOVANNI GABRIELI: Excerpts from Sacred Symphony for Brass
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH: Inventions Nos. 1-5
ANTON WEBERN: Symphony, Op. 21
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH: Inventions Nos. 8-9
IGOR STRAVINSKY: Symphonies of Wind Instruments
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH: Inventions Nos. 11, 12, 15
LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 5 in C minor

Kent Nagano and the Montreal Symphony Orchestra explore symphonies through the centuries with pianist Angela Hewitt for a live performance from Carnegie Hall's Spring for Music Festival.

This week's encore contest winner was Christpher Huynh of Houstron, TX. He correctly identified Maurice Ravel's "Bolero."

Go to SymphonyCast's home page for the latest show.


Kent Nagano

Igor Stravinsky

JS Bach

Ludwig van Beethoven