Support SymphonyCast with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
SymphonyCast homepage

Week of December 22, 2008

Cleveland Orchestra

Ton Koopman, conductor
Joshua Smith, flute

Listen (hour 1)
Listen (hour 2)

Listen live from your local public radio station

Telemann: Suite No. 3 from Tafelmusik
C.P.E. Bach: Flute Concerto in A major
Haydn: Symphony No. 94 (“Surprise”)

Someone once said that gentleness is the greatest evidence of strength, and if that's true, then The Cleveland Orchestra is one of the mightiest in the land. Their big, glorious 100-member band is pared back here to just a few dozen players. But when the musicians are this good, you see what strength lies in this gentleness.

Go to SymphonyCast's home page for the latest show.


Ton Koopman

Joshua Smith

Georg Frederick Telemann

Franz Josef Haydn