Support SymphonyCast with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
SymphonyCast homepage

Week of November 10, 2008

Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra

Paavo Järvi , conductor
Janine Jansen, violin

Listen (hour 1)
Listen (hour 2)

Listen live from your local public radio station

Part: Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten
Britten: Violin Concerto No. 1, Op. 15
Schubert: Symphony No. 9 "The Great"

Conductor Paavo Järvi has a deep personal connection to the music of his Estonian countryman Arvo Pärt. The composer has been a guest in the Järvi household and even dedicated a symphony to Järvi's father. No one plays his gorgeous and haunting music quite like this conductor and orchestra.

Go to SymphonyCast's home page for the latest show.


Paavo Järvi

Franz Schubert

Arvo Pärt

Benjamin Britten