Support SymphonyCast with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
SymphonyCast homepage

Week of July 28, 2008

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

Iván Fischer, conductor
Richard Goode, piano

Listen (hour 1)
Listen (hour 2)

Listen live from your local public radio station

Weber: Overture to Der Freischütz
Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 2
Brahms (Schönberg, arr): Piano Quartet No. 1

Sometimes a remodel can completely change a space into something marvelous. In classical music, a young Arnold Schoenberg made an orchestral transcription of a chamber piece by Brahms and created, in effect, the Symphony No. 5 that Brahms never wrote.

Produced in partnership with Radio Netherlands Worldwide

Go to SymphonyCast's home page for the latest show.


Iván Fischer

Richard Goode

Ludwig van Beethoven

Johannes Brahms