Support SymphonyCast with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
SymphonyCast homepage
Week of May 19, 2008

Orpheus Chamber Orchestra

Christian Zacharias, piano

Listen (hour 1)
Listen (hour 2)

Listen live from your local public radio station

Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 3
Schumann: Overture, Scherzo and Finale
Theofanidis: Muse (2007)
Schumann: Piano Concerto

The Orpheus Chamber Orchestra works without the benefit of a conductor. How they are able to negotiate a piece of music between 30-plus opinionated players is nothing short of miraculous. As you might imagine, their rehearsals are pretty lively and a bit like British parliament, but the result speaks for itself.

Go to SymphonyCast's home page for the latest show.


Christian Zacharias © Nicole Chuard / Idd

Christopher Theofanidis

Johann Sebastian Bach

Robert Schumann