Support SymphonyCast with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
SymphonyCast homepage

Week of March 17, 2008

Philadelphia Orchestra
Roger Norrington, conductor

Dietrich Henschel, baritone

Bach: Orchestral Suite No. 3
Bach: Cantata No. 82, Ich habe genug
Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 5

The Philadelphia Orchestra is known for its rich string sound -- which is due in part to a generous use of vibrato. That said, it isn’t the type of sound that a composer like Bach or Mendelssohn would have known. So, for this week’s concert Sir Roger Norrington has asked the Philadelphia Orchestra to play it straight, and to amazing effect.

Go to SymphonyCast's home page for the latest show.


Roger Norrington (courtesy of Minnesota Orchestra)

Dietrich Henschel © Bernd Noelle

Johann Sebastian Bach

Felix Mendelssohn