Support SymphonyCast with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
SymphonyCast homepage

Week of January 21, 2007

Cleveland Orchestra

Franz Welser-Möst, conductor
Leif Ove Andsnes, piano

See Leif Ove Andsnes play on a mountain top

The audio for this program has been removed, per American Public Media's rights agreement with this orchestra.

Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 17, K. 453
Dvorak: Symphony No. 5
Strauss, Jr.: Artists Life Waltzes, Annen Polka, Die Fledermaus Overture

The Cleveland Orchestra has a lot of gifts, including the ability to strike that perfect balance in a Strauss waltz between joy and sadness, between the dark-roasted coffee and that swirl of whip cream on top. Of course, it doesn’t hurt that their music director, Franz Welser-Möst, comes from the land of the Waltz King. This week’s concert features Strauss waltzes that sound easy to play, but Welser-Möst explains they're a lot trickier than they sound!

Go to SymphonyCast's home page for the latest show.


Franz Welser-Möst
(Photo© Roger Mastroianni)

Leif Ove Andsnes

Antonin Dvorak

Johann Strauss, Jr.