Support SymphonyCast with your purchases
  • News/Talk
  • Music
  • Entertainment
SymphonyCast homepage
Week of January 24, 2011

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
Mikhail Pletnev — conductor
Alexander Gavrylyuk — piano

SymphonyCast 01/24/2011 (Hour 1)
SymphonyCast 01/24/2011 (Hour 2)

Listen live from your local public radio station


PROKOFIEV: Piano Concerto No. 2

RACHMANINOV: Isle of the Dead

SKRIABIN: Le poeme de l'extase, Op. 54

TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 4, Op. 36
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Bernard Haitink, conductor
Philips 442 061

No piano concerto starts with an air of such hushed anticipation as Prokofiev's 2nd. A hot young talent at the piano, Alexander Gavrylyuk, makes this a very special concert.

Produced in partnership with Radio Netherlands Worldwide

Enter this week's Encore Giveaway

Go to SymphonyCast's home page for the latest show.


Mikhail Pletnev
Mikhail Pletnev
Alexander Gavrylyuk
Alexander Gavrylyuk
Sergie Prokofiev
Sergie Prokofiev
Sergie Rachmaninov
Sergie Rachmaninov